This would have to be my favourite assignment of the year. Hastings District Council accepts nominations for individuals and groups who have made a valuable – and voluntary – contribution to the community and presents each of them with a Civic Honours Award.

This year’s awardees included Dr David Barry, Sue Melville, Colleen Marshall, Pam O’Keefe and the DIY Coffin Club.

The awards were presented by Mayor Lawrence Yule and chief executive Ross McLeod in the council chambers.

The full album of photographs taken by Duncan Brown is no longer available online; please contact us to view.