This would have to be my favourite assignment of the year. Hastings District Council accepts nominations for individuals and groups who have made a valuable – and voluntary – contribution to the community and presents each of them with a Civic Honours Award.

This year’s recipients included Anthony Richardson, Donald Trask, Frank Wilkins, Janice Hopkinson, Maree Forde-Harris,Jill Frizzell, Dennis Beets, Margaret Kitt, David Kitt, Te Rangi Huata, Fae Andersen, Wayne Clark, and Dressage Hawke’s Bay (Northern).

Appointments for the portraits took me to Hastings, Waipatu, Flaxmere, Bridge Pa, Waimarama and Havelock North. The images were then collated into a commemorative book which was given to everyone who attended the awards evening.

All photographs from this event can be seen and ordered from its album on the SALES page.

Further photos from the Awards Evening held on the 27 June will be available soon.